Kabrick initiated into Kappa Delta Pi

Melissa Kabrick, Independence, has been initiated into the Alpha Beta Phi Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi at William Jewell College in Liberty, Mo.

The purpose of the education honor society is to promote educational research and excellent teaching as well as to honor outstanding scholastic achievement and leadership. Honor society members will provide support to the department of education at William Jewell for recruitment and professional events and will generate interest in research projects.


Nicholson receives MU scholarship

Brandi Nicholson, Independence, has received the Jason M. and Margaret H. Terry Memorial Education Endowment Fund Scholarship from the University of Missouri-Columbia. The scholarship was established in 2005 in memory of Jason M. and Margaret H. terry to assist students who have financial need.

Nicholson,  a 2006 graduate of Truman High School, is a junior majoring in secondary mathematics education.


Ryals, Schmutzler named to honor society

Gene Ryals III, Independence and Brock Schmutzler, Raytown, have been inducted into Alpha Chi at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, Mo. The honor society admits students from all academic disciplines who are a junior or senior and in the top 10 percent of their class.


Dooley tallies well for Washburn debate

Tyler Dooley, Independence, is a member of the Washburn University debate team that just won its fourth overall debate sweepstakes championship. In individual speaker awards, Washburn debate placed fifth. Dooley placed eight. Washburn University is in Topeka, Kan.


Harris is inducted into honor society

Christine Harris, Blue Springs, was inducted into the  Omicron Delta Kappa honor society at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa last spring. A junior majoring in elementary education, she was inducted into the society based on scholarship and campus leadership. She is a 2006 graduate of Blue Springs South High School.


Crouch is awarded scholarship at Coe

Emily Crouch, Independence, was awarded a presidential scholarship to attend Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She plans to study liberal arts at the college.


Smith is royal hopeful at NMSU

Ryan Smith, Independence, was a homecoming royalty candidate at Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville, Mo. A senior in journalism and political science, he was sponsored by the Phi Sigma Kappa fraternity, of which he is president. He is also a member of Order of Omega, Cardinal Key and Mortar Board.


Kennedy, Jackson pace KU debate team

Alyssa Kennedy, Blue Springs and Rita Jackson, Lee’s Summit are members of the debate team at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kan. The team has opened the 2008-09 season by winning 10 individual and team trophies at the first two tournaments of the year. Last year, KU finished first in the country in the National Debate Tournament varsity rankings.


Ramlal, Douthitt pledge sororities

Sarah K. Ramlal, Blue Springs and Whitlee A. Douthitt, Oak Grove, are among those who have joined sororities at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kan. More than 600 women joined sororities this year, an increase of 150 from last year.

Ramlal, a freshman in pre-medicine, joined the Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority. She is a graduate of Blue Springs High School.

Douthitt, a freshman in music therapy, joined the Delta Delta Delta Sorority. She is a graduate of Oak Grove High School.