High school notes for Aug. 24, 2011.

Clark selected for leadership program

Madison Clark, a 2011 graduate of Blue Springs High School, was among those selected for Bank of America’s Student Leaders Program.

The program is a paid, eight-week summer internship at the Youth Volunteer Corps of America. During the internship, students had the opportunity for learning and professional development experiences, while also

Fort cheer finishes competition season

The 2011-2012 Indian Cheerleading squads at Fort Osage High School had a successful competitive summer.

The football squad received four blue ribbons, two red ribbons, the spirit stick, the SPOT Award, the Award of Technical Excellence in tumbling and a bid to the National Cherleading competition. They also received the trophy for Top Team in Performance for their division.

The entire squad wars nominated to try-out for All-American. Making the All-American squad were Amyliah Smith, Sam Jeffries and Candra Camerlynck. Camerlynck was awarded the Top All-American from the entire camp.

They volleyball and JV squad received three blue ribbons, three red ribbons, the spirit stick, a bid to Nationals, the Herkie Award and Top Team in Performance in their division. Several team members were nominated to try-out for All-American.

The culmination of the summer for the competition squad was placing third at the MCCA regional competition in the Class 5A large division. This allows the team to move on to the State Competition Oct. 2 in Columbia, Mo.

Lee’s Summit groups to perform for MEA

Four music groups in the Lee’s Summit School District have been invite to perform at the Missouri Music Educators Association conference in January at the Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, Mo.

Groups selected to perform are Symphony Strings from Lee’s Summit North; Sounds of Summit from Lee’s Summit High School and the Symphonic Band and Una Voce Chamber Choir, both from Lee’s Summit West.

A total of 31 musical groups from Missouri elementary and secondary schools and colleges were selected as well as one community group. Performing groups were selected through a “blind” audition with a panel of judges reviewing recordings without knowing the names of the groups, the schools or the directors’ names. More than 140 applications were reviewed this year.

Project Lead the Way programs certified

Four Lee’s Summit schools recently received national certification for their Project Lead the Way programs. Project Lead the Way is a non-profit organization and the nation’s leading provider of science, technology, engineering and math education programs. It offers a rigorous curriculum that allows students to apply what they are learning in math and science class to real-life engineering and technology projects.

Schools earning the certification for this year include Lee’s Summit North, Summit Technology Academy, Lee’s Summit High School and Lee’s Summit West.

The certification program recognizes schools for successfully demonstrating a commitment to PLTW’s national standards and provides students with the opportunity to apply for college credit when they complete select PLTW courses in high school and receive other college-level recognition at PLTW affiliate universities. PLTW has more than 40 affiliate college and university partners.

As part of the process, each school’s principal and a team composed of school staff members, students and members of the community submitted a self-assessment of the school’s implementation of PLTW’s Pathway to Engineering program. A site visit by a national PLTW certification team followed.

Fort Osage FFA wins awards at local fairs

Members of the Fort Osage FFA chapter attended local fairs this summer including the Jackson County Fair, District Fair in Marshall and the Lafayette County Fair. The students exhibited their SEA projects including garden vegetables, field crops, hay and livestock.

Jackson County Fair

BreAnne Houghtaling exhibited her ducks and received blue and red ribbons. Kaitlyn Vann, Kaitlyn Lohman, BreAnne Houghtaling, McKayla Henry, Breannah Henry, Kelsey Couch, Sarah Daubendiek, Makaylin Vanderpool, Mindie Radford and Kira Jenner, all exhibited rabbit projects. Jenner received grand champion for her Junior Mini Rex buck named “Jack.” All of the students received blue and red ribbons for their rabbit exhibits. Houghtaling received blue ribbons for her art work and horticulture exhibits she entered and showcased at the Grain Valley Community Center.

District Fair in Marshall

Gold recipients in the horticulture division included – Adam Dickmeyer, Megan Speiser, Kelsey Couch, Sarah Daubendiek, BreAnne Houghtaling, Austin Sims, Breannah Henry, Mindie Radford and McKayla Henry.

Silver recipients in the horticulture division included – Kaitlyn Vann, Kaitlyn Lohman, Mindie Radford, BreAnne Houghtaling, Megan Speiser, Sarah Daubendiek, Adam Dickmeyer and Austin Sims.  

Gold recipients in the fruits and vegetable division included – Austin Sims, McKayla Henry, Breannah Henry, Megan Speiser and Sarah Daubendiek.

Silver recipients in fruits and vegetables included – Sarah Daubendiek, Adam Dickmeyer, Megan Speiser, McKayla Henry, Breannah Henry and Mindie Radford.

Gold and silver recipients in the field crop division included – Kyle Case, Alex Siefker and Austin Sims.

Livestock Class winners included – Kelsey Couch, Cross-bred senior doe; Breannah Henry, senior Mini Rex buck. ; Alex Siefker, two Hereford heifers; BreAnne Houghtaling, Buff Orpington and Khaki Campbell, ducks. Houghtaling received Grand Champion for the second year in a row for her water fowl exhibit.

Lafayette County Fair

Sarah Daubendiek showed her horse, receiving high honors in horsemanship and received the Senior Horseman Award. She also received Grand Champion for her Market goat, a blue ribbon for her breeding doe and the Sr. Showmanship award in goats.

Alex Siefker showed two Hereford heifers receiving blue ribbons on both in the all other breed division.