Several all-conference and all-district squads were recently announced, and Eastern Jackson County was well represented throughout.

Several all-conference and all-district squads were recently announced, and Eastern Jackson County was well represented throughout.

J.T. Hayes has been a force at the plate for the last few seasons for the Truman baseball team. This season, he again carried a huge offensive load for the Patriots, and the senior third baseman excelled, earning a spot on the Suburban Middle Six All-Conference first team.

Hayes also received third-team recognition for his work on the mound.

Hayes was the only Truman first-team member, but a slew of others earned second- and third-team nods. Seniors Stuart Lauber (first base) and Lane Titus (second base) were named to the second team and shortstop Tom Ruddy and outfielders Ross Paschall and Connor Polacek joined Hayes on the third team.

n Four members of the Blue Springs girls soccer team picked up all-district team honors after leading the Wildcats to their first district crown in eight seasons.

After posting shutouts in 1-0 victories over Raytown and Lee’s Summit North, senior goalkeeper Alyssa Scholl made the cut, along with freshman defender Madison Clary, sophomore forward Shilah Rainey and senior forward/midfielder Rebekah Lowrey – who knocked in the game-winning goal in the championship against Lee’s Summit North for her only goal of the season.

Fort Osage senior midfielder Alli Ventresca, junior defender Kelsey Robertson and freshman forward Leigh Anne Bartlett were named to the team after the Indians downed Truman 4-1 before falling to Lee’s Summit North 2-0 in the semifinals. They were joined by Truman senior defender Sandra Chiles and junior goalkeeper Maya Coen.

Lee’s Summit North seniors Brooke Burris (forward), Brianna Engler (midfielder), Casey Williamson (forward) and junior forward Hannah Bomar also garnered honors.

n The Missouri River Valley Conference West released its all-conference baseball and girls soccer squads, as well as academic all-conference teams for baseball, girls soccer and track and field.

After winning the conference title, seven Oak Grove baseball players were recognized as seniors Conner Matson, Cole Doherty and Seann Baker were named to the first team along with Grain Valley senior Zach Zurbrick.

Oak Grove seniors Corey Bolin and Levi Harmon and junior Jake Kienzler and Grain Valley junior Landon Hedrick were named to the second team. Panther junior Dakota Hearn garnered honorable mention recognition.

Oak Grove’s Bolin, Harmon, Matson, Doherty, Aaron Graham, Jonathan Latshaw, Drew Phillips and Tanner Johnson and Grain Valley’s Zurbrick, Connor Boisen, Trenton Squiers and Jacob Desselle were named to the academic all-conference team.

In girls soccer, Grain Valley made a run to the state playoffs after winning the conference title, and it showed as 10 players were received postseason honors. Juniors Kali Carson and Nathalia Barr and sophomores Reighan Childers and Sianna Aumua grabbed spots on the first team; senior Cory Henson and juniors Devan Fairfield, Darby Scharfenkamp and Abby Winter and freshman Kiley Wagener were second-team selections and junior Morgan Clark was named honorable mention.

Oak Grove freshman Sarah Sperry earned a second-team nod while freshman Jenelle Mausbach and sophomore Brooke Barker collected honorable mention status.

Grain Valley’s Clark, Scharfenkamp, Carson, Henson, Childers, Barr, Wagener, Sydney Holcomb, Lindsey Mangum, Erika Santulli, Hannah Eades, Maddie Smith and Bailey Christeson earned spots on the academic all-conference team. Sperry, Mausbach, Laci Tubbs, Emily Craig, Mara Lehmann, Mia Bright, Brooke Barker, Paige Martin, Lexi Holtorf, Morgan O’Dell, Megan Sapp and Kelsey Swearngin were selected from Oak Grove.

n Grain Valley and Oak Grove also collected plenty of academic honors for track and field. After winning the league title, Oak Grove’s Garrett Cross, Ethan Fugitt, Jacob Ledger, Josh Stanley, Caleb Drecktrah, Skyler Hulse, Corey Martin, Levi Harmon, Joe Elledge, Blake Jackson, Tyler Russell, Cory Stattelman, Collin Fletchall, Tanner Kanak and Jacob Stanley captured spots on the boys academic all-conference team.

The Eagles finished second on the boys side and Justin Carlsen, Blake Lacey, Brice Quinn, Mitch Gaylord, Daniel Mahurin, Nathan Ryan, David Hudgens, Jacob Miller, Preston Weigel, Kevin Keck and Michael Pellham made the academic squad.

On the girls side, Grain Valley won the conference crown and had the most athletes on the academic team as Jaylee Branch, Chelsea Gabriel, Rachel Reddell, Megan Todd, Danacy Say, Mallory Brown, Kayla McCormack, Elanor Ringwood, Tori Squiers, Hannah Coons, Haley McDowell, Kelsi Schrader and Carissa Hayes made the cut.

Alyssa Groseclose, Becca Mendenhall, Kaylee Skistimas, Miranda Strickland, Anna Hallier, Chandler Minnis, Sierra Smith, Callie Tripp, Easton Harmon, Dani O’Neil and Kayla Stevenson made it for Oak Grove.